Masthead of U3A Hawthorn, Victoria, Australia: gateway to new learning experiences

Honorary Life Members

Jump to list of current Life Members


Meg Adams receiving her certificate from President Irving Miller

At the 2019 AGM, Meg Adams was awarded Honorary Life Membership in recognition of her many contributions to U3A Hawthorn. Meg's various roles over some 19 years have included Office Manager, tutor of Creative Writing and some 4 years as President. Her significant input to strategic planning and the refurbishment project for our campus were highlighted in Irving's presentation.

Life Membership award for Robin Siedle

Rob Siedle receiving his certificate from President Meg Adams

Life Membership award for Joan Harding

Joan Harding receiving her certificate from President Meg Adams

At the 2017 AGM, Rob Siedle was awarded Honorary Life Membership in recognition of his long-standing role as a tutor of Philosophy, together with his contribution in other roles, including tutor liaison.

Joan Harding was awarded Honorary Life Membership in recognition of her significant contribution as Chair of the Excursions Committee and for organising numerous excursions to a wide variety of locations, venues and attractions. In addition we recognised her previous roles as a member of the Management Committee.

Life Membership award for Ruth Muir

Ruth Muir receiving her certificate from President Meg Adams

At the 2015 AGM, with U3A Hawthorn celebrating 30 years in operation, Ruth Muir was awarded Honorary Life Membership in recognition of her role as founding Manager of the Orchestra of U3A Hawthorn in 1997 and her continuing role over 18 years in the running of the Orchestra, arranging its concert programme and liaising with soloists, music libraries and venues through 54 performances [to date].

Nan Inglis receives Life Membership

Nan Inglis receiving her certificate of Life Membership

Honorary Life Membership was awarded to Nan Inglis at the 2015 AGM. President Meg Adams spoke about her provision of Italian language classes over a period of some 25 years, much of the time delivered from her home.

Dr John Harcourt AOM

President Norm Fary congratulates Dr. John Harcourt OAM

Honorary Life Membership was granted to Dr. John Harcourt OAM at the 2013 AGM. President Norm Fary made special mention of John's contribution over some 12 years as a volunteer with U3A Hawthorn, particularly in his role with the Database system and for his assistance in the Office. John has also been our Newsletter Desktop Publisher until recently and assists with audiovisual setup for Tutors.


Life Member Peter Anderson

President Rod Benjamin congratulates Peter Anderson

Honorary Life Membership was bestowed on Peter Anderson at the 2010 AGM. The President, Rod Benjamin, paid tribute to Peter's 9 years service as Secretary of U3A Hawthorn and his contribution to the organisation, particularly during the transition from our previous Swinburne location to Sinclair Avenue during which Peter played a significant role in negotiations with Boroondara Council over the lease and refurbishment of our campus.

Derek Readman receiving his award

President Liz Pittman with Derek Readman

A highlight of the 2007 AGM was the conferring of U3A’s highest honour, Honorary Life Membership, on Derek Readman. In presenting Derek with a framed certificate and a small token of appreciation, President Liz Pittman recalled his exceptional contribution which commenced almost as soon as he joined us in 1994 and which has involved him in every major activity that has made our U3A so successful.

In particular, Liz referred to Derek’s leading role in curriculum, Saturday Series, Summer School and Friday Snapshots. Responding, Derek recalled how much U3A had helped him wind down after retirement and said that he had greatly enjoyed the social interaction and the opportunity to make new friends.

Life Member: Sue van Dorssen

Sue van Dorssen
(awarded 2006)

Current List of Honorary Life Members

Meg Adams

Peter Anderson

Sue van Dorssen

John Harcourt

Joan Harding

Pamela Rogers

Ruth Muir

Robin Siedle









Previous Honorary Life Members

Name Awarded
Margaret Drake 1994
Judy Gould 1994
Harold Fraser 1994
Deirdre Jane 1994
Rae Alexander 1994
Betty Marginson 1995
Jill Fitzgibbon 1995
Alma Bourke 1995
Ven Houston 1996
Alexandria Gale 1997
Greta Burman 1997
Jean Aitkenhead 1998
Lois Astley 2000
Hans Van Dorssen 1993
Derek Readman 2007
Nan Inglis 2015

Return to top